Graduate Catalog 2022-2023

Academic Calendar

The University provides a year round instructional program consisting of fall and spring semesters and a summer term.  WKU also offers a winter term, three 5-week sessions in spring, summer and fall terms, and bi-term courses during the fall and spring semesters.  The academic year at WKU is divided into two semesters consisting of sixteen weeks, a thirteen-week summer term, and a three-week winter term. The opening and closing dates are listed below. 

Fall Semester 2022

Classes Begin (Full-Term, First Bi-Term, 5-Week Session 1) Monday, August 22
Labor Day (university closed) Monday, September 5
5-Week Session 1 Ends Friday, September 23
5-Week Session 2 Begins Monday, September 26
1st Bi-Term Finals Tuesday-Wednesday, October 11-12
Fall Break (University closed) Thursday-Friday, October 13-14
2nd Bi-Term Begins Monday, October 17
5-Week Session 2 Ends Friday, October 28
5-Week Session 3 Begins Monday, October 31
Thanksgiving Holiday (University closed) Wednesday-Friday, November 23-25
5-Week Session 3 Ends Friday, December 2
Final Examinations Monday-Thursday, December 5-8
2nd Bi-Term Finals Wednesday-Thursday, December 7-8
College Recognition Ceremonies Friday, December 9
Final Grades Due (noon) Tuesday, December 13

Winter Term 2023

3-Week and 5-Week Sessions Begin Monday, December 12
Winter Break (University closed-Winter Session Classes in Session) December 19-January 2
3-Week Classes End Friday, December 30
2-Week Classes Begin Tuesday, January 3
2-Week and 5-Week Classes End Saturday, January 14
Martin Luther King Jr. Day (University closed) Monday, January 16
Final Grades Due (noon) Tuesday, January 17

Spring Semester 2023

Classes Begin (Full-Term, First Bi-Term, 5-Week Session 1) Tuesday, January 17
5-Week Session 1 Ends Friday, February 17
5-Week Session 2 Begins Monday, February 20
1st Bi-Term Finals Monday-Tuesday, March 6-7
Spring Break Monday-Friday, March 13-17 (University closed - Wednesday-Friday, March 15-17)
2nd Bi-Term Begins Monday, March 20
5-Week Session 2 Ends Friday, March 31
5-Week Session 3 Begins Monday, April 3
Final Examinations Monday-Thursday, May 1-4
2nd Bi-Term Finals Wednesday-Thursday, May 3-4
5 Week Session 3 Ends Thursday, May 4
Commencement Thursday, May 4
College Recognition Ceremonies Friday, May 5
Final Grades Due (noon) Tuesday, May 9

Summer Term 2023

May Sessions
Classes Begin Monday, May 8
Memorial Day (University closed) Monday, May 29
June I Sessions
Classes Begin Tuesday, May 30
June II Sessions
Classes Begin Monday, June 5
Juneteenth Holiday (University closed) Monday, June 19
July I Sessions
Independence Day (University closed) Tuesday, July 4
Classes Begin Monday, July 10
July II Sessions
Classes Begin Monday, July 17
Summer Term Ends Thursday, August 10