Graduate Catalog 2021-2022

Academic Calendar

The University provides a year round instructional program consisting of fall and spring semesters and a summer term.  WKU also offers a winter term, three 5-week sessions in spring, summer and fall terms, and bi-term courses during the fall and spring semesters.  The academic year at WKU is divided into two semesters consisting of sixteen weeks, a thirteen-week summer term, and a three-week winter term. The opening and closing dates are listed below.  Specific information about winter and summer terms is available through the Division of Extended Learning and Outreach (DELO).

Fall Semester 2021

Classes Begin (Full-Term, First Bi-Term, 5-Week Session 1) Monday, August 23
Labor Day (university closed) Monday, September 6
5-Week Session 1 Ends Friday, September 24
5-Week Session 2 Begins Monday, September 27
1st Bi-Term Finals Thursday-Friday, October 7-8
Fall Break Thursday-Friday, October 14-15
2nd Bi-Term Begins Wednesday, October 20
5-Week Session 2 Ends Friday, October 29
5-Week Session 3 Begins Wednesday, November 3
Thanksgiving Holiday (University closed) Wednesday-Friday, November 24-26
Final Examinations Monday-Friday, December 6-10
2nd Bi-Term Finals Thursday-Friday, December 9-10
5-Week Session 3 Ends Friday, December 10
College Recognition Ceremonies Saturday, December 11
Final Grades Due (noon) Tuesday, December 14

Winter Term 2022

3-Week and 5-Week Sessions Begin Monday, December 13
Winter Break (University closed-Winter Session Classes in Session) December 20-January 2
No Classes Friday, December 24
3-Week Classes End Thursday, December 31
2-Week Classes Begin Monday, January 3
2-Week and 5-Week Classes End Saturday, January 15
Martin Luther King Jr. Day (university closed) Monday, January 17
Final Grades Due (noon) Tuesday, January 18

Spring Semester 2022

Classes Begin (Full-Term, First Bi-Term, 5-Week Session 1) Tuesday, January 18
5-Week Session 1 Ends Friday, February 18
5-Week Session 2 Begins Monday, February 21
1st Bi-Term Finals Thursday-Friday, March 3-4
Spring Break Monday-Friday, March 14-18
2nd Bi-Term Begins Monday, March 21
5-Week Session 2 Ends Friday, April 1
5-Week Session 3 Begins Monday, April 4
Final Examinations Monday-Friday, May 2-6
5 Week Session 3 and 2nd Bi-Term Ends Friday, May 6
Commencement Friday, May 6
College Recognition Ceremonies Saturday, May 7
Final Grades Due (noon) Tuesday, May 10

Summer Term 2022

May Sessions
Classes Begin Monday, May 9
Memorial Day (University closed) Monday, May 30
June I Sessions
Classes Begin Tuesday, May 31
June II Sessions
Classes Begin Monday, June 6
July I Sessions
Independence Day observed (University closed) Monday, July 4
Classes Begin Tuesday, July 5
July II Sessions
Classes Begin Monday, July 11
Summer Term Ends Thursday, August 4