Graduate Catalog 2018-2019

Academic Calendar

The University provides a year round instructional program consisting of fall and spring semesters and a summer term.  WKU also offers a winter term, three 5-week sessions in spring, summer and fall terms, and bi-term courses during the fall and spring semesters.  The academic year at WKU is divided into two semesters consisting of sixteen weeks, a thirteen-week summer term, and a three-week winter term. The opening and closing dates are listed below.  Specific information about winter and summer terms is available through the Division of Extended Learning and Outreach (DELO).

Fall Semester 2018

Classes Begin Monday, August 27
5 Week Session I Begins Monday, August 27
Labor Day (university closed) Monday, September 3
5 Week Session I Ends Friday, September 28
5 Week Session II Begins Monday, October 1
Fall Break (no classes, offices open) Thursday-Friday, October 11-12
Second Bi-Term Begins Thursday, October 18
5 Week Session II Ends Friday, November 2
5 Week Session III Begins Monday, November 5
Thanksgiving Holiday (university closed) Wednesday-Friday, November 21-23
5 Week Session III Ends Friday, December 7
Final Examinations Monday-Friday December 10-14
Commencement Saturday, December 15
Final Grades Due Tuesday, December 18

Winter Term 2019

Classes Begin Wednesday, January 2
MLK Day (University closed) Monday, January 21
Final Examinations Friday, January 18

Spring Semester 2019

Classes Begin Tuesday, January 22
5 Week Session I Begins Tuesday, January 22
5 Week Session I Ends Friday, February 22
5 Week Session II Begins Monday, February 25
Spring Break (no classes; offices open) Monday-Friday, March 4-8
Second Bi-Term Begins Monday, March 11
5 Week Session II Ends Friday, April 5
5 Week Session III Begins Monday, April 8
5 Week Session III Ends Friday, May 10
Final Examinations Monday-Friday May 6-10
Commencement Weekend Friday-Sunday May 10-11
Final Grades Due Tuesday, May 14

Summer Term 2019

May Sessions
Classes Begin Monday, May 13
Memorial Day (university closed) Monday, May 27
June I Sessions
Classes Begin Monday, June 3
June II Sessions
Classes Begin Monday, June 10
July I Sessions
Classes Begin Monday, July 8
Independence Day (university closed) Wednesday, July 4
July II Sessions
Classes Begin Monday, July 15
Summer Term Ends Thursday, August 8